Charged with Assault or Domestic Violence?
Defense Attorney with Prosecution Experience in North Central Ohio
You need skilled and effective representation on your side in order to defend your rights and pursue a favorable case result if you have been arrested and charged with a violent offense in the state of Ohio. Even if you are only under investigation, it is never too early to hire legal counsel.
I have worked in the Ohio justice system for more than 15 years — seven of which I spent as a felony prosecutor in Franklin County. This hardline experience gives me game-changing perspective on both sides of the criminal justice system. As a Mansfield criminal defense attorney, I've helped many men and women avoid the costly consequences of a domestic violence or assault charge, and I am prepared to do the same for you.
Assault Charges in Ohio
In Ohio, there are several categories or types of assault charges, but each carries stern penalties and should be taken seriously. According to Ohio Revised Code § 2903.13, simple assault is either a purposeful or negligent act that causes physical harm to another person. It is usually considered a first degree misdemeanor. If convicted of an assault charge, you could face fines as high as $1,000 and up to six months in jail.
A negligent assault charge is the result of harm caused by a deadly weapon without intent. If you accidentally misfire a gun while hunting and injure someone, for example, you could face negligent assault charges. This is a third degree misdemeanor punishable by no more than 60 days in jail and $500 in fines. Section 2903.14 of the ORC covers this type of offense.
Felonious assault is a second degree felony and can result in up to eight years of prison time and fines amounting to $20,000. This type of crime is discussed in ORC § 2903.11 and pertains to crimes that result in serious harm to another person. Just below felony assault, aggravated assault — discussed in ORC § 2903.12 — is a fourth degree felony that involves serious harm to another inflicted while the accused as "under the influence of sudden passion or in a fit of rage."
Domestic Violence Charges & Penalties in Ohio
Another violent crime that carries serious penalties for conviction is the crime of domestic violence. This crime includes physical harm caused to certain individuals that meet the legal definition of being in a domestic relationship. This crime is laid out in Section 2919.25 of the Ohio Revised Code. A domestic relationship may include any of the following:
- Current or former spouses
- Current or former dating couples
- A couple who share a child in common
- Housemates / roommates
If you have been arrested and charged with the crime of domestic violence, then you need representation on your side as soon as possible. Conviction for a first offense can result in the penalties associated with a first degree misdemeanor, while subsequent offenses can invoke much harsher penalties. Due to Senate Bill 50, a third conviction of domestic violence is considered a third degree felony that carries a five year prison term and fines up to $10,000.
Representing the Criminally Accused in Mansfield, Columbus, & Nearby Communities
If you choose to work with The Mayer Law Firm, you can be sure that I will stand by you and help you pursue the results that you need. With more than 15 years of experience and practice on both sides of the courtroom in over 50 jury and / or bench trials, I have a strong working relationship with the law enforcement. I understand the criminal justice process and I am prepared to put my extensive trial and negotiation skills to work for you.
Your situation is important to me! Contact my firm today to schedule a
free case evaluation at my Mansfield or Columbus office. At that time, we can thoroughly discuss the criminal charges that you face and the ways that I am prepared to help you.